The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award was…

  • Signed into law (PL 100-107) August 20, 1987 by President Ronald Reagan.
  • Named for Secretary of Commerce Malcolm Baldrige, who served in office until his death in 1987.
  • Expanded into education and healthcare through law signed by President Clinton on October 30, 1998.

Forty states and twenty-two countries have quality awards based on the U.S. Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Criteria for Performance Excellence.

Goals of the Performance Excellence Framework…

Help schools improve educational services through:

  • Ever-improving educational value to all students.
  • Improvement of overall school effectiveness, use of resources, and capabilities.
Baldridge Performance Excellence Criteria Organizational Best Practices that Support Continuous Improvement
Leadership Systems Perspective
Strategy Visionary Leadership
Customer Student-Centered Excellence
Measurement, Analysis, and Knowledge Management Valuing People
Workforce Agility and Resilience
Operations Organizational Learning
Results Focus on Success and Innovation
Management by Fact
Societal Contributions
Ethics and Transparency
Delivering Value and Results